Skip to content

Honey Products – Kosher Guidelines

The following rules can be applied when determining if honey products are kosher:

Honey:

Pure, unflavored honey is acceptable without a hechsher. 

Flavored honey requires a hechsher.

Clover, Wildflower, Blossom, Orange, etc., are types of honey, not flavors, and are acceptable without a hechsher if they are unflavored.

Honey in the comb is acceptable, but one should not squeeze honey from the comb on Shabbos.

Bee parts found in unfiltered honey should be removed.

Forest honey, honeydew honey, and beechwood honey are not recommended.

Honey Products: 

Bee pollen, bee bread, and beeswax are acceptable without a hechsher if they don’t contain any added ingredients.

Other bee products like royal jelly and apis mellifica are not kosher.