Skip to content

TipTop, Kosher Touch, OVK, Lucerne Farms, Spice King, Tootsie Dots, Tic Tacs, Jobs Available, Advertisement Opportunity

TipTop Sandwich Shop (Savoy Drive) has sandwiches, hotdogs, schnitzel etc., To-Go or Eat-In.

A Healthy Touch Café at the MJCC is not open but their catering division (Kosher Touch) is open.

OVK IN AN OVAL is the new Kosher symbol of the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis. The former OV symbol (V in a circle) was replaced because some non-Kosher products bear that symbol to indicate Vegan or Vegetarian. However, some Vaad Hoeir certified products are still using the old OV symbol. To verify whether or not an OV symbol on a particular product is a Kashrus symbol, contact the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis at 314-569-2770 or at information@ovkosher.org

The AKC does not recommend Go Veggie Vegan Crème Cheese. The OV symbol on the container does not stand for the reliable certification of the Orthodox Vaad of St. Louis; but is there to identify the product as vegan.

Lucerne Farms Multiple varieties of 32 oz non-dairy coffee: This product is missing the D-Dairy designation. This product is dairy as it contains sodium caseinate (a milk derivative) as stated in the ingredient panel. According to the FDA this ingredient can be labeled “non-dairy”, however, according to halacha it is actual dairy.

Spice King Grilled Steak & Burger Seasoning bears an unauthorized STAR-K symbol. The ingredient panel lists “beef fat.” This product is not certified by STAR-K. (Kashrut.com)

Tootsie Dots Assorted Fruit Flavored Gumdrops in small Mini Boxes (“Mini-Dots”) do not bear an OU on their individual boxes, but they are nonetheless certified OU and pareve, even if the outer bag of the variety pack bears an OU-D. (The D is due to the other Tootsie candies in the variety pack.) (COR)

Tic Tac Mint Candies are produced at many plants and in many flavors, and not all are Kosher. Each individual container should be checked for reliable certification (a small OU on the top left of the 1 oz. containers). (COR)
• Tic Tac Frosty Mint mints bears OU-D on some containers. The D is a mistake; this is pareve.
• Tic Tac Gum Candies, which look similar to the mints candies and are sold in the same type of dispenser containers, are not Kosher and bear no Kosher marking.

There are Mashgiach Jobs available. Contact the AKC for more information.

Advertisement Opportunity: If you are interested in placing an ad in the upcoming AKC Kosher Guide please contact the AKC at akc@kosheratlanta.org or 404-634-4063