Only those Tums products that bear a Kosher symbol are acceptable. Most of the certified products state Pareve beneath the symbol. Tums Chewy Delights contains milk and is marked as Dairy.
Some containers of Tums Assorted Berries Extra Strength 750 and Tums Assorted Fruit Extra Strength 750 are now being made by non-certified manufacturers, and do not bear a Kosher symbol. Check each container.
Tums Naturals Black Cherry & Watermelon variety contains carmine color, which is made from non-Kosher cochineal beetles, and therefore bears no Kosher marking.
Tums Chewy Bites are not certified and bear no Kosher marking.
Great Value Diced Peaches In 100% Juice at Walmart bears an OU on the 4 Packs and contains Kosher grape juice. The 12 Packs no longer bear an OU and are not acceptable even though their online pictures still show an OU symbol.
Byrd Cookie Company is no longer certified by the OU.
Imperial Vegetable Oil Spreads in several varieties have recently changed from dairy [OU-D] to pareve [plain OU]. Check each package carefully. 1 lb. packages of sticks that bear a plain OU on the outer package are pareve even though the inner wrappers still state OU-D. The wrappers will be updated.
Check out our website for information on the following:
Common Approved Symbols
Kosher Without a Symbol
Separating Teruma and Maaser