Skip to content

“Vegan” Labeled Products May Contain Dairy

In general, one cannot assume that products labeled as “vegan” or “non-dairy” are dairy-free or DE by kosher standards. These products may contain actual dairy (typically found in flavoring) that would exceed the kosher limits of DE. One example of this is that although Bruster’s Ice Cream flavors may be labeled as vegan, not all of them can be assumed to be Kosher Pareve or Kosher Dairy Equipment (DE). Only the items listed as DE or Pareve on our kosher letters have been verified as not containing any dairy.