Skip to content

Wonder Italian Bread, Eden Dried Mushrooms, Ferrara Candy, Coca Cola, Dr. Pepper

Flowers Baking Company is launching a new bread “Wonder Italian” that is kosher-Pareve when bearing a laser printed code on the packaging that starts with 113 and ends with the letter B.

Please be advised that Eden Whole Dried Shiitake Mushrooms now require checking for bugs, even when bearing the OK symbol.
For instructions on how to check mushrooms see the OK website.

Chewy Lemonhead & Friends manufactured by Ferrara Candy Co. bear an unauthorized UMK. And are not kosher.
The only Ferrara products certified by the UMK are Atomic Fireballs and Jawbusters/Jawbreakers. Any other items are not certified by the UMK.

Coca Cola & Dr. Pepper: The El Paso and Abilene TX Canners of Coca-Cola & Dr. Pepper products have retained the services of a new company to supply aluminum cans and lids. The company does not yet have the tools to emboss the lids with the OU symbol. Therefore, for several weeks cans of products will not bear the OU symbol. The Kashrut of these products is not impacted.

Taken from the OU Kosher Halacha Yomis:
Q. Do foods that are certified vegan require hashgacha? Since these foods cannot contain meat, fowl, or fish, can it be assumed they are kosher?

A. No, such an assumption is unfounded. First, although the manufacturer or restaurant claims to be vegan, it is halachically questionable whether one may accept as fact claims made by companies for their own benefit. Igeros Moshe (Even Ha’ezer 5:42 and see also YD 1:55) writes that one can only rely on ingredient statements if the company would face government fines if the information were found to be untrue.
Second, vegan foods can be non-kosher even if they do not contain meat, fowl, or fish. A vegan food may have a status of Bishul Akum (foods cooked by a nochri that can be served to a distinguished guest and could not have been eaten raw) which is not kosher. Vegan foods may also contain non-kosher wine or wine vinegar, as well as fruits and vegetables that are prone to infestation. Although many vegans will not eat insects, their standard for cleaning may not meet halachic requirements. Finally, if the product was cooked with non-kosher utensils, it would not be acceptable even if all the ingredients were kosher.